Sunrise of Philadelphia, Inc. is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization – contributions to which are tax deductible to the fullest extent permitted by law. The official registration and financial information of Sunrise of Philadelphia, Inc. may be obtained from the Pennsylvania Department of State by calling toll free within Pennsylvania, 1-800-732-0999. Registration does not imply endorsement. Sunrise of Philadelphia, Inc. is an Equal Opportunity Employer and Care Provider.

Our Impact

Sunrise’s success in engaging students and supporting their academic and personal development is evidenced by student attendance and retention, as well as academic indicators.  In 2015-16, 63% of Sunrise participants attended 30 or more days of programming (K-12). External evaluation (2015) of Sunrise’s 21st Century Community Learning Center (CCLC) show that 94% of students who attended our program made achievement level gains (moving at least one letter grade from fall to spring) or maintained a C or better in reading. According to PSSA scores (students 3rd grade and above), 42% of students who regularly attended our program scored proficient or advanced in reading, compared to just 23% of non-participating students. Sunrise’s 2015 summer learning program directly impacted student’s literacy levels – data shows 75% of Sunrise’s students maintained current reading levels, while non-participating students lost an average of two reading levels during the summer.  Thirty percent of South Philadelphia High School’s graduating class of 2015 was able to graduate after completing credits through Sunrise credit recovery.

Check out our Year in Review outlining our impact this year: Year in Review 2019

Who We Are

Board of Directors:

•  Michael Rosman - Chair, Senior Home Loan Advisor, JP Morgan Chase Bank
•  Frank Robinson MBA - Vice Chair/Treasurer, Managing Partner at Kairos Development Group
•  Anthony N. Di Pietro, M.Ed - Secretary, high school principal and South Philadelphia High School Hall of Fame member
•  Diana Banh - Assistant Branch Manager, Beneficial Bank
•  Josh Smargiassi - Principal, Corporate Facilities Inc.

Founders:

•   Loretta V. Crea
•   Dr. Benjamin DiTullio, Ed.D.
•   Vincent J. Litrenta
•   Alfonso A. Sorichetti

Staff:

Administrative Office:

 

Vincent J. Litrenta

Executive Director

VLitrenta@SunriseofPhila.org

 


 

Laura Johnson

Director of Programs, Data and Evaluation

LJohnson@SunriseofPhila.org

 


 

Anthony LaMorgia

Director of Finance and Human Resources

ALamorgia@SunriseofPhila.org

 


Christina DeAngelo, MS

Controller

CDeAngelo@SunriseofPhila.org

 

 


 

 

Maritza Gonzalez

Director of Youth and Family Services

MGonzalez@SunriseofPhila.org

 

 

 


 

Ben Cooper, MS

Program Quality Director

BCooper@SunriseofPhila.org

 

 

 


 

Marina Fradera, M.Ed.

Trauma and Curriculum Specialist

MFradera@sunriseofphila.org

 

 

 

 


 

Bernadette Townes

Administrative Assistant

BTownes@SunriseofPhila.org

 


 

Sheila Robinson

HR Assistant

SRobinson@SunriseofPhila.org

 

 


Francis Scott Key School Site:

Patricia Townes

Site Director K-5

ptownes@SunriseofPhila.org

 

 

Lavon Howard

Site Director Middle School

LHoward@SunriseofPhila.org

 

 

 


Southwark School Site:

 

Danielle Devose

Site Director Middle School

DDevose@SunriseofPhila.org

 

 


Eliza B. Kirkbride School Site:

Morgyn Yates

Site Director

MYates@sunriseofphila.org

 

 


Chester A. Arthur School Site:

Devona Melton

Site Director

DMelton@sunriseofphila.org

 

 

 


Edwin M. Stanton School Site:

 

Jacqueline Smith

Site Director

JSmith@SunriseofPhila.org

 


South Philadelphia High School Site:

Brianna Morales

High School Coordinator

BMorales@SunriseofPhila.org

 

 


Science Leadership Academy Middle School Site:
 

Kat Kushin

Senior Site Director & Marketing Coordinator

KKushin@SunriseofPhila.org